April 2015

A simple month of playing with my grandchildren, Samaritan second stage training and weekly duties, Tai Chi and new body conditioning classes, swimming AND lots of drawing.

Drawing my large picture based on the chair I sat on and photographed in the Science Museum in Paris in February, mixed with trees and the darkness of indian ink. I loved drawing with a soft, soft graphite 4B and 6B pencil. It is a large AO drawing. Wow it just fascinated me, I immersed myself into it. It was going to be colourful in the background maybe with layers of water and ink, but then I thought I’d like the background to be black and dark, darker than the night, darker than my thoughts, just dark. So I painted pure black Indian ink in the background and it felt like silk. It was quite magical to do and great to watch it slowly cover the background. I will make a coloured version with inks and painting and maybe drawing, but I was so pleased with this drawing.

I was inspired to do this because I was asked last month to put a painting in to the Brecon Women’s Festival and I painted a red landscape that had been in my head for two years. Then I couldn’t stop. Now I’m drawing parts of trees, branches and trunks, shapes and textures. I’m just loving it. And its just for me no one else. Sheer bliss.

Leave a Reply

