February adventures

As the month started I visited my mum and had a lovely week together. Being 89 she is relatively fit and well but changes are happening. Anxiety at this age is increasing and she needs more reassurance – actually most people would be amazed at what she does. She is so independent. It’s 10 years since dad died and this hits her hard. Like me she misses him every day. We both think about him daily. Strange when I think of him as a quiet, steady person, an intelligent man, a fixer of things, a maker of things, a repairer, an inventor,  a grower of vegetables, a logical mind, a family centred man from a little hamlet in Northern Ireland – I loved him so much. He gave me so much and luckily I realised this long before he died. Yet I still have regrets, particularly about the last weeks of his life. He should have been home not in hospital. Why did I let that happen?

My travels this month included taking sixth formers to Berlin. I enjoyed it better than the last Barcelona trip. The city is great – calm and interesting. Different to other European cities. This year I found a wonderful Sunday market and had time to myself there – muddy underfoot but amazing stalls from arty crafty to boxes of junk as well as great street food. A real gem. Also discovered a new art gallery/museum – the Kathe Kollwitz gallery – fantastic drawing and etchings. Loved it. Nearby there was a lovely shop where I bought gorgeous red earrings.

Tai Chi was better for some sessions in February – shibashi and meditation are favourites apart from the short form. It’s variable so looking for other classes locally. Need a change I think. I need it to be a constant in my life to balance me. Important when I have a wobble.

Daily drawing was inspired by the Berlin visit, even drew human beings! Tried to finish my white landscape – not finished yet…….

Leave a Reply

